Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

SCBWI SA: Nominating body for the Astrid Lindgren Award

As one of the nominating bodies for the Astrid Lindgren Award, SCBWI SA selects makes four nominations each year. Two in South Africa and two in the rest of the world.

South Africa

Niki Daly

Rest of the world

Margaret Meek
Shirley Hughes

Cool WebMargaret Meek

Margaret Meek is a phenomenon. Her contribution to the development of reading is immeasureable. In my view, The Cool Web should still be compulsory reading for all those who teach.

Shirley Hughes

Shirley Hughes, best known for Dogger and her Afie books, has has written 50 books and illustrated more than 200. More than 11 million of her books have been sold. In the New Year’s honours, she became a CBE for her contribution to literature. She has won an array of awards for her work, including two Kate Greenway Medals, the Eleanor Farjeon Award for distinguished service to children’s literature and has been honoured by three universities as well as the Royal Society of Literature.

She was the first to receive a lifetime achievement award from Booktrust (2015). She continues to delight children of all ages.


Dogger (1977), which she wrote and illustrated, was the first story by Hughes to be widely published abroad and it was recognised by the Library Association's Kate Greenaway Medal as the year's best children's book illustration by a British subject. In celebration of the 70th anniversary of the companion Carnegie Medal in 2007, it named one of the top ten Greenaway Medal-winning works by an expert panel and then named the public favourite, or "Greenaway of Greenaways". (The public voted on the panel's shortlist of ten, selected from the 53 winning works 1955 to 2005. Hughes and Dogger polled 26% of the vote to 25% for its successor as medalist, Janet Ahlberg and Each Peach Pear Plum.)

shirley-hughesHughes won a second Greenaway (no illustrator has won three) for Ella's Big Chance (2003), her own adaptation of Cinderella, set in the 1920s. It was published in the U.S. as Ella's Big Chance: A Jazz-Age Cinderella (Simon & Schuster, 2004). She was also a three-time Greenaway commended runner up: for Flutes and Cymbals: Poetry for the Young (1968), a collection compiled by Leonard Clark; for Helpers (Bodley Head, 1975), which she wrote and illustrated; and for The Lion and the Unicorn (Bodley Head, 1998), which she wrote and illustrated (Highly Commended).

In 1984 Hughes won the Eleanor Farjeon Award for distinguished service to children's literature, in 1999 she was awarded an OBE, and in 2000 she was made a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. She was also granted an Honorary Fellowship by Liverpool John Moores University and Honorary Degrees by the University of Liverpool in 2004 and the University of Chester in 2012. Booktrust, the UK's largest reading charity, awarded Hughes with their first lifetime achievement award in 2015.

Already Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE), Hughes was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2017 New Year Honours for services to literature.